60% OFF CLINICS – CODE: OPTOUTSIDE | 50% OFF HELMETS + PADS – CODE: PROTECT50 | UP TO 40% OFF RAMPS + FREE US SHIPPING – EXP. 11/28

Thomas Barth

2,173 REVIEWS – 5 STAR RATING ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Home Base

Boulder, CO

Other Gig

My “regular” job is a biomechanics engineer and crash investigator for the Federal Government, with a focus on injury tolerance and vehicle safety.

Instructor Certifications

BICP level 1, NICA Level 3

Favorite Type of Terrain or Feature

My favorite terrain always involves elements of technical features that challenge limits.

Favorite Trail Snack   

Regular food, often nuts and chocolate

Favorite Post Ride Food or Drink

If it was a hot weather ride, a fruit smoothie then beer. If cold weather, a smoothie, coffee, then beer.

Favorite Riding Tip      

Progression requires perspective. We have to change our perspective to see where we are and where we want to go.

Favorite Riding Partner

My wife K, since she is always ready, and often remembers things I forgot. If my son is available, then him too. I often remember things he forgot.

How did you get into Mountain Biking?

I was riding motorcycles at around 8 years old, and went on my first trip to Moab in 1976. By the mid to late 80’s we started to see mountain bikes and I thought they were crazy. I got my first mountain bike in 1988, and no longer had a motorcycle by 1995.

If you could live anywhere in the world, where would you live and why?

Boulder, which I do, because of friends and nature. But if I could, I’d return to France for extended periods for the food.

Looking to ride with Tom? Join him in one of our Colorado clinic locations or check him out on IG @Bartinator

G2 Bike looks forward to many more of these clinics in this area.

Ninja Mountain Bike Skills is a warm and friendly environment to learn new skills and hone ones you already know....
Ninja Mountain Bike Skills
5
2014-03-19T14:32:41-07:00
Ninja Mountain Bike Skills is a warm and friendly environment to learn new skills and hone ones you already know.  It's a non intimidating environment where mistakes are welcomed so corrections can be made.  I own G2 Bike is Aliso Viejo and this clinic has been ran out of the Aliso Woods area and when I interviewed the clients they had all but great things to say.  None arrogant instructors and easy to follow steps. The biggest bang for many was meeting new area riders at their skill level, gaining confidence, and getting the bike set up and fit properly.  G2 Bike looks forward to many more of these clinics in this area.  Thanks Richard for all you do for the MTB community! ~ AJ S.  

That was time well spent – thanks Coach Richard!

That was time well spent – thanks Coach Richard! If you do more clinics, I’d recommend them to my friends...
Ninja Mountain Bike Skills
5
2014-03-19T14:48:13-07:00
That was time well spent – thanks Coach Richard! If you do more clinics, I’d recommend them to my friends regardless of their speed level… ~ Patrick K.  

I’m so glad I made the decision to be part of the Mulberry Gap 3-day clinic.

I'm so glad I made the decision to be part of the Mulberry Gap 3-day clinic. Richard and Randy are...
Ninja Mountain Bike Skills
5
2017-05-04T08:17:07-07:00
I'm so glad I made the decision to be part of the Mulberry Gap 3-day clinic. Richard and Randy are really skilled at breaking things down, very patient and kind. They were very attentive to what each of us needed individually while maintaining a no-pressure, fun vibe. The place is beautiful, rustic and offers a great opportunity to unplug. It's the seemingly little things that make a big difference in your riding, and I feel like I gained some useful insight about not only being on the bike, but set-up and nutrition as well. ~Susan Tully

Knowledgeable, thorough, patient, and helpful!

I have received a private lesson and also attended a clinic with Ninja pros. They are great to work with;...
Ninja Mountain Bike Skills
5
2017-06-05T14:41:58-07:00
I have received a private lesson and also attended a clinic with Ninja pros. They are great to work with; knowledgeable, thorough, patient, and helpful! ~Kamala S.

Highly recommended!

Highly recommended!  Essential riding skills are thoroughly broken down making them easy to understand and learn.  Coach Richard and Kris...
Ninja Mountain Bike Skills
5
2014-03-19T14:33:17-07:00
Highly recommended!  Essential riding skills are thoroughly broken down making them easy to understand and learn.  Coach Richard and Kris are some of the most professional and pleasant coaches/cyclist/people I have come across.  Looking forward to one of their future clinics. ~ Tom T.  

This was awesome!

This was awesome. Having someone dissect your riding into a few skills that you can focus on is a great...
Ninja Mountain Bike Skills
5
2014-03-19T14:48:53-07:00
This was awesome. Having someone dissect your riding into a few skills that you can focus on is a great starting point in order to make you faster. I’m sure everyone including myself experienced a positive feeling in how to improve from this point on. — Don’t expect to be a world champ after this clinic but to learn what and where and most importantly how to improve your trail riding from now on. Richard gives you the tools but you have to put in the work.” ~ Michael A.  

I’ve immediately seen an improvement in my riding …

I took the skills camp at Mt Laguna last weekend – it was GREAT. Ok, so I was a bit...
Ninja Mountain Bike Skills
5
2017-05-04T08:18:05-07:00
I took the skills camp at Mt Laguna last weekend – it was GREAT. Ok, so I was a bit of a nervous wreck when I realized I was the least skilled in the group – but the instructors didn’t give up on me and gave me plenty of tips, positive reinforcement and new ways to think about my riding. At the end of the weekend, I felt that I had a better understanding how to ride better. I’ve immediately seen an improvement in my riding, am a lot less timid and am looking forward to taking another camp soon! ~Quan Campbell
5
7
Ninja Mountain Bike Skills